Skip to content

Brad Sweet Wrangles World of Outlaws Competitors in Texas


Brad Sweet and the No. 49 NAPA AUTO PARTS/Sage Fruit/ASE team captured their second win of 2017 this weekend at Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas.

The Outlaws made a return trip to Gator Motorplex (Willis, Texas) on Thursday for a rain-out make-up date before heading to Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, Texas) for a two-day event on Friday and Saturday. At Gator Motorplex, NAPA driver Brad Sweet set quick time for the fourth time this season on Thursday. But while running in the top five during the feature, a car ahead of the No. 49 on track lost control, hit the wall, and came back into traffic, making hard contact with Sweet and causing him to flip. The damage was too severe to continue the race.



Friday and Saturday in Devil’s Bowl the NAPA team unloaded a new Kasey Kahne Racing car. Track conditions provided some great racing, allowing Sweet to move from his sixth starting position to third in just one lap. Brad worked lapped traffic running in second for the entire race, until he was able to gain six tenths of a second on the leader on the last lap, and nearly making the pass for the win as they crossed the start finish line. Sweet finished second by a mere 0.138 seconds.



Saturday’s event worked out just a bit better for the NAPA team as Brad qualified second quick, grabbed the lead on lap 26 of the 30-lap feature and opened up a 1.5 second lead as he crossed the start finish line for his second victory of the season.


Start / Finish:  April 13th at Gator Motorplex 5 / 18;  April 14th at Devil’s Bowl Speedway 5 / 2;
April 15th at Devil’s Bowl Speedway 4 / 1
Points Standing / Total: 3 / 2,324



Next Race: April 21st, Riverside International Speedway (West Memphis, Arkansas)
How to Watch:



Brad Sweet: @BradSweet49
Kasey Kahne Racing: @KKRdirt

Kasey Kahne Racing View All

Kasey Kahne Racing (KKR), based in Mooresville, NC, was formed in 2005 by NASCAR driver Kasey Kahne. Since the team's inception, KKR has amassed over 200 wins and four World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series championships. Those include the 2019, 2020, and 2021 championships with Brad Sweet, driver of the No. 49 NAPA AUTO PARTS sprint car.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *