Skip to content

Capps and NAPA Funny Car Team Close Points Gap at Mile-High

NAPA Funny Car Team driver Ron Capps burnout at Mile-High

DENVER (July 21, 2013) – Ron Capps was content with the performance of his NAPA Funny Car team Sunday at the Mile-High Nationals at Bandimere Speedway near Denver.

The veteran driver wasn’t happy that his Dodge Charger R/T lost in the second round to Mile-High pole winner and eventual event titlist Cruz Pedregon, but Capps and crew chief Rahn Tobler are focused on a bigger prize that can be attained by steady improvement.

The day started off perfectly for the NAPA Funny Car team in the opening round when Capps defeated Don Schumacher Racing teammate Matt Hagan, who is the series points leader. Capps was able to chip into Hagan’s lead by 20 points by advancing one round further.

“The first-round was big because we know how good that car is,” said Capps, who is ranked fourth and 104 points behind Hagan after 14 of 24 events on the NHRA Mello Yello Series.

“We knew going up there Cruz would run good. We tried to go up there and not make a mistake. You have to give credit to Cruz for running great.

“We made up some ground this weekend, and we’ll leave here with all the important parts we came with. We gained some ground. That’s what we wanted to do.

“I’m excited for the rest of the (Western) Swing, and we’ll go on to Sonoma (Calif.) and its always been great for us,” he said of the track where he’s won three times.

Join us to cheer on Ron Capps and the NAPA Funny Car team July 26-29, Sonoma Raceway, Sonoma, Calif.

Event winner: Cruz Pedregon (Cruz Pedregon Racing)
No. 1 qualifier: Cruz Pedregon, 4.073 sec., 307.27 mph

Ron Capps, NAPA AUTO PARTS Dodge Charger R/T
Qualifying position: No. 8
First round: CAPPS (no time, 299.60 mph) def. Matt Hagan (4.258, 296.31)
Second round: Cruz Pedregon (4.178, 297.35) def. CAPPS (4.282, 296.18)
Session 1: 4.200 sec., 299.93 mph
Session 2: 4.152, 300.33
Session 3: 4.288, 291.57
Session 4: 4.934, 162.16

(Unofficial after 14 of 24 events; DSR drivers in CAPS)

1. Matt Hagan, 991
3. Cruz Pedregon, 951
2. Johnny Gray, 893
4. Ron Capps, 887
5. John Force, 860
6. Jack Beckman, 851
7. Courtney Force, 837
8. Tim Wilkerson, 770
9. Del Worsham, 768
10. Bob Tasca III, 743
2013 WINNERS: C. Force, CAPPS, GRAY, C. Pedregon, HAGAN, C. Pedregon, GRAY, GRAY, HAGAN, J. Force, C. Force, HAGAN, GRAY, C. Pedregon.

Don Schumacher Racing View All

Don Schumacher Racing (DSR), the winningest team in drag racing history, has raced to claimed more than 340 NHRA national event victories and 17 Mello Yello World Championship titles. Headquartered in Brownsburg, Indiana, DSR fields professional teams competing in both the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing series and Factory Stock Showdown, including the NAPA AUTO PARTS Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat Funny Car driven by 2016 World Champion Ron Capps.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *