Skip to content

Chase Elliott Leads Four-Car Hendrick Motorsports Contingent at Talladega


Chase Elliott, driver of the No. 24 NAPA AUTO PARTS Chevrolet SS for Hendrick Motorsports, began the Round of 12 finale from the fourth position and finished 12th in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Talladega Superspeedway. Elliott and the No. 24 team gave it all they had, but a win at Talladega eluded them Sunday afternoon.

With that, the rookie’s run in the 2016 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup comes to an end. Elliott was one of four drivers eliminated at Talladega as NASCAR’s postseason moves to the Round of 8.


21-23 October, 2016, Talladega, Alabama USA Chase Elliott © 2016, Nigel Kinrade NKP


“We tried to make it happen,” Elliott said. “Disappointed we came up short — this NAPA team has been fighting hard these past few weeks. We’ve had some awesome race cars and it’s definitely unfortunate to come up short there.”

The 20-year-old rookie fought hard at Talladega leading five times during the Alabama 500, but unfortunately due to accidents in the past two races of the Round of 12 he was unable to recover the points needed to advance.


21-23 October, 2016, Talladega, Alabama USAChase Elliott©2016, Matthew T. ThackerNKP


Elliott was followed to the finish by teammate Jimmie Johnson who clocked in 23rd. Kasey Kahne finished 35th while Alex Bowman subbing in for Dale Earnhardt Jr. rounded out the Hendrick Motorsports contingent in 36th.

While he was eliminated from the postseason, Elliott is still in the running for NASCAR’s Most Popular Driver award.


21-23 October, 2016, Talladega, Alabama USABrad Keselowski and Chase Elliott©2016, Barry Cantrell / NKP


The next event on the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule will be Sunday, Oct. 30 at Martinsville Speedway. The event will be broadcast live on NBCSN at 1 p.m. ET.


Chase Elliott Stats after Talladega (October race)

RankingPointsStartsPolesWinsTop-5Top-10Laps Led


21-23 October, 2016, Talladega, Alabama USA Chase Elliott ©2016, John Harrelson / NKP


2016 Sprint Cup Standings (after 6 of 10 playoff races; Round of 12 complete)

PostionDriver (wins)Points
1.Joey Logano (2)4000
2.Jimmie Johnson (3)4000
3.Kevin Harvick (4)4000
4.Matt Kenseth (2)4000
5.Carl Edwards (2)4000
6.Denny Hamlin (3)4000
7.Kurt Busch (1)4000
8.Kyle Busch (4)4000
9.Martin Truex Jr. (4)2191
10.Brad Keselowski (4)2168
11.Austin Dillon2163
12.Chase Elliott2156


21-23 October, 2016, Talladega, Alabama USA Chase Elliott © 2016, Nigel Kinrade NKP


Chase Elliott: @ChaseElliott
Hendrick Motorsports: @TeamHendrick
No. 24 Team: @Hendrick24Team

Hendrick Motorsports View All

Founded by Rick Hendrick in 1984, Hendrick Motorsports is the winningest team in NASCAR Cup Series history. At the sport’s premier level, the organization holds the all-time records in every major statistical category, including championships (14), points-paying race victories (291) and laps led (over 77,000). Headquartered in Concord, North Carolina, the team fields four full-time entries in the NASCAR Cup Series, including the No. 9 NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 driven by 2020 champion Chase Elliott.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *