Skip to content

NAPA No. 49 Team Posts Strong Showing before South Dakota Rainout

Brad Sweet and the NAPA Auto Parts No. 49 team took advantage of a break in the High Limit Racing schedule to compete in the prestigious Huset’s High Bank Nationals in Brandon, South Dakota, alongside the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series, in which Sweet is a five-time champion. The NAPA driver delivered a strong performance on Wednesday, the opening night,  before the remaining two evenings were rained out.

The night began with challenges for the Sweet and the NAPA team with the Big Cat qualifying 13th with a time of 11.108 seconds. The points-based event used a six-car invert to line up the heat races, placing Sweet on the front row of his heat. Making a spectacular move in the NAPA No. 49, Sweet jumped to the lead and won his heat. That secured his spot in Wednesday night’s feature. Sweet carried the forward momentum into the main event, where he raced to a sixth-place finish after starting 12th.

Sweet held sixth in event points after the opening night, but the rest of the weekend’s races were unfortunately canceled due to inclement weather. With the rainout preventing further opportunities to complete the High Bank Nationals, the NAPA No. 49 team heads to Missouri to return to the High Limit Racing schedule. Sweet will race three nights between Eldon and Wheatland before the NAPA team returns to the Kasey Kahne Racing shop in North Carolina for a two-week break.

Start / Finish: 12 / 6
Points Standing / Total: 1st / 1,612 pts. (+76)

Next Race: Wednesday, June 26, Lake Ozark Speedway, Eldon, MO
How to Watch or Listen: FloRacing

Brad Sweet: @BradSweetRacing
Kasey Kahne Racing: @KKRdirt

Kasey Kahne Racing View All

Kasey Kahne Racing (KKR), located in Mooresville, NC, was formed in 2005 and employs more than ten people dedicated to sprint car racing. The organization fields two entries in the High Limit Sprint Car Series; Brad Sweet (NAPA No. 49) and former NASCAR Cup Series driver Kasey Kahne (No. 9). Collectively, KKR has 6 World of Outlaws Championships (Daryn Pittman in '13 and Brad Sweet in '19, '20, '21, '22 & '23). Since the team's inception, KKR has amassed over 285+ dirt car wins.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *